

Playwrights Guild of Canada

Presents

The 2023 Annual

Sunday October 29th, 2023

Celebrating Playwrights in Canada

We honour and acknowledge the territory upon which our office resides, the traditional land of the Wendat, the nations of the Haudenosaunee Confederacy, the Métis, and the Anishinabek, including the Mississaugas of the Credit.

We recognize and respect all recorded and unrecorded Nations who care(d) for the land of Tkaronto, meaning "Where the Trees Are Standing in Water."

PGC is grateful for the opportunity to protect and care for the stories of this community, which is the home to many indigenous people from across Turtle Island.

Our Host - Beau Dixon



Beau Dixon is an award-winning actor, musician, playwright, music director, and sound designer based in Ontario, Canada. He is the co-founder and Artistic Director of Firebrand Theatre, an educational theatre company giving life to stories that inspire youth, and an Artistic Associate for 4th Line Theatre in Millbrook, Ontario. Beau is also the Music Director for Sheridan College, Lakefield College School, and the Stratford Festival. Audiences may have seen Beau on stage in Guys 'n' Dolls (Stratford Festival), Ghost Quartet (Crow's Theatre), Harlem Duet (Tarragon Theatre), and The Colour Purple (Neptune Theatre).

As a composer, music director and sound designer, he has worked with the Stratford Festival, Vertigo Theatre, Crow's Theatre/ County Stage, Sheridan College, and Talk Is Free Theatre. Look for his appearances in Station Eleven (HBO/Paramount) and The Expanse (Amazon Prime). Beau is the recipient of three Dora Mavor Moore Awards (Toronto), two Toronto Critics' Awards, and a Calgary Critics Award. He has been nominated for a Betty Mitchell Award (Calgary), and he was a KM Hunter Award finalist. To learn more about the talented Beau Dixon, visit his site.

TOMHENDRY PLAYWRITING Awaras

Thank You To Our Incredible Sponsors!

TOM HENDRY AWARDS SPONSORS



RBC Emerging Artists Project



The Estate of Dorothy Lees-Blakey





Family, Friends & Colleagues of John Palmer











Manitoba Association of Playwrights







TOMHENDRY PLAYWRITING Awards

Thank You To Our Venue Sponsor!

THANK YOU TO OUR VENUE SPONSOR
ROYAL MTC
TOM HENDRY WAREHOUSE THEATRE



TOM HENDRY WAREHOUSE

PLAYWRITING

Thank You To Our Presenting Partners!

TOM HENDRY AWARDS PRESENTING PARTNERS







BLACK

TheArtsand LettersClub ofToronto **Foundation**

Persephone Belfry

theatre









From PlayME on CBC Podcasts.
CBC.ca/PlayME

THE PLAYWRIGHTS GUILD COMEDY AWARD

This award is given for an outstanding comedy that has not yet had a premiere production.

JURY

Marty Chan (Chair), Leahdawn Helena, & Jani Lauzon

NOMINEES

Lesser Demons
by Dorothy Dittrich

Timepiece

by Kico Gonzalez-Risso

Jessica's Fine Adventure

by Robert More

ROBERT BEARDSLEY AWARD THE ARTS & LETTERS CLUB OF TORONTO FOUNDATION

This award is given for an outstanding one-act play by a student within the Greater Toronto Area.

JURY

Sarena Parmar (Chair), Vishesh Abeyratne & Jade Silman

NOMINEES

Desert Lily
by Cass Iacovelli

Iphigenia in Dreaming
by Cassandra Marcus Davey

Greek Tragedy
by Madeline Rossell

THE JOHN PALMER AWARD

This award is given to a playwright who reflects John Palmer's ideals of challenging the mainstream and fostering intergenerational friendships.

JURY

Franco Boni (Chair), Jacoba Knaapen & Rahul Varma

NOMINEES

Justin Miller
Nominated by Karen Hines

Lili Robinson Nominated by Heidi Taylor

Sangeeta Wylie Nominated by Valerie Sing Turner

THE DOROTHY LEES-BLAKEY THEATRE FOR YOUNG AUDIENCES AWARD

This award is given for an outstanding new or recently premiered Theatre for Young Audiences (TYA) play.

JURY

Emil Sher (Chair), Sarah Flynn, & Gail Nyoka

NOMINEES

For Now

by Scott Button

The Weight of Ants

by David Paquet,

Translation by Leanna Brodie

Luna

by Danielle Roy

RBC EMERGING PLAYWRIGHT AWARD

This award is given for an outstanding play by an emerging playwright.

JURY

Jacob Zimmer (Chair), Jennifer Brewin, & Ashley King

NOMINEES

The Thin Place
by Cole Hayley

Vial by David Sklar

One Perfect Day | Un día perfecto by Margarita Valderrama

THE BRA D'OR AWARD

Presented by PGC's Women's Caucus, the Bra d'Or Award recognizes an individual or individuals for efforts in supporting and promoting the work of Canadian women playwrights.

NOMINEES

Catherine Banks

Playwright and Educator

Norm Foster

Playwright and Actor

Lisa O'Connell

Artistic Director of Pat the Dog Creation

Marianne Sawchuck

Creator and Producer of Women At Play(s)

Donna Spencer

Co-founder, and Artistic Producer of Firehall Arts Centre

DAN SCHOOL OF DRAMA & MUSIC (MUSICAL) AWARD

This award is given for an outstanding musical that has not yet had a premiere production.

JURY

Alexandra Kane (Chair), Dorothy Dittrich, & Arkady Spivak

NOMINEES

Captain Zuke
by Landon Braverman &
Anna Jastrzembski

Armchair Confidential by Aaron Jensen

Jook
by Glenn Marais & Todd Phillips

THE PLAYWRIGHTS GUILD DRAMA AWARD

This award is given for an outstanding Drama, which was unpublished and had not had a professional premiere.

JURY

Daniel MacIvor (Chair), Grace Chin, & Hope McIntyre

NOMINEES

Area 33

by Natalie Meisner

Kowloon Bay by Jovanni Sy

The Night from the 4th to the 5th by Rachel Graton, translated by Katherine Turnbull

CAROL BOLT AWARD

This award, in memory of David and Carol Bolt, is given annually for outsanding work that has premiered in the past year.

JURY

Judith Thompson (Chair), Reneltta Arluk, & Marcia Johnson

NOMINEES

1939

by Jani Lauzon & Kaitlyn Riordan

Legislating Love: The Everett Klippert Story by Natalie Meisner

Shark Bite

by Meredith Taylor-Parry



Special Thanks!

Shona & Janice, ASL Interpreters FLIC

> Susan Bingham Rowe Griffiths

Ken Schwartz, Two Planks & A
Passion Theatre
Bensound.Com

Playwrights Guild of Canada Board of Directors

Chris Tolley - President

Alexandria Haber - Vice President

Wren Brian - Treasurer

<u>Amiel Gladstone - Contracts Committee Chair</u>

Keith Barker Jamie Bradley Adrienne Wong

PGC Staff

Nancy Morgan - Executive Director

Rebecca Burton - Membership & Contracts Manager

Mindy Doherty Griffiths - Public Relations Manager

Sarah Duncan - Program Manager

Monique Renaud - Bookkeeper

Emma Taylor - Communications Coordinator

Lisa Rechenberg -Administrative Coordinator

Michel Nguyen - Special Events & Marketing Intern

The 2023 Annual



SHORTLISTE

A collection of plays shortlisted for the awards







PLAYWRIGHTS GUILD OF CANADA PRESENTS

SEPTEMBER 2023 - FEBRUARY 2024



Playwrights' Studio



























PLAYWRIGHTS GUILD OF CANADA IS GRATEFUL FOR THE SUPPORT OF:



Canada Council Conseil des arts for the Arts

du Canada







FUNDED BY THE CITY OF **TORONTO**



Cultural **Human Resources** Council

des ressources humaines du secteur culturel

Funded by the Government of Canada's Community Services Recovery Fund



350-401 Richmond St. W Toronto, ON M5V 3A8 **Box 60022 Queen Beverley PO** Toronto, ON M5V OC5 416-703-0201 info@playwrightsguild.ca playwrightsguild.ca @playwrightsguildofcanada @pguildcanada

