skip to Main Content

Dramatists Guild of the Americas – Playwright Workshop: Marketing Post-Pandemic

Dramatists Guild of the Americas
Published
June 25, 2024
Location
NYC, NY
Job Type

Description

Marketing Post-Pandemic

Instructors: Donna Hoke and Caroline Russell-King
Class Date: Mondays
Course Duration: Six weeks (July 15, July 22, July 29, August 5, August 12, August 19)
Maximum Students: 14

ADT: 7pm-9pm
EDT: 6pm-8pm
CDT: 5pm-7pm
MDT: 4pm-6pm
PDT/MST: 3pm-5pm
AKDT: 2pm-4pm
HST: 12pm- 2pm

Class Summary:

After the pandemic, theatre subtly (and not-so-subtly) changed.  Companies reopened without the resources they had before.  Suddenly, blanket submissions no longer worked as they once did.  Join Donna Hoke and Caroline Russell-King for a class that talks about the things nobody wants to talk about – to maximize your scripts’ potential, you need to figure out how to strategically prepare your materials in a whole new way.  During the six weeks, you’ll learn how plays make it from your computer to the stage and how to create personal marketing plans; you’ll talk about feedback, synopsis, open calls vs cold submissions, research, record keeping, and more.  Making the more-limited opportunities work for you is the name of the game.

Class Requirements:

At least two full-length plays completed; ideally, you've had a full-length or several ten-minutes produced.

Class Expectations:

Students will be expected to attend each class, engage in discussion, and bring in materials for the class to engage with.

Class Outcome:

Students will leave with a better feel for today's paths to production and have developed strategies to get their plays moving along them.

Cost: $300

Learn more here: Marketing Post-Pandemic (Summer 2024) | Dramatists Guild

Feel free to email dginstitute@dramatistsguild.com, or call the Guild office at (212) 398-9366.

Only registered members can apply for jobs.
Back To Top
Accessibility