skip to Main Content
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

The Silent Woman by Alexandria Haber

September 28 @ 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm BST

Free

Play Synopsis

Inspired by the Gothic Novels of the Brontes and the suspenseful atmosphere of Daphne Du Maurier, The Silent Woman is a magic-box: a play that’s a novel disguised as a play about writing a novel.

In the tradition of “The Woman in Black” and “Stones In His Pockets”, The Silent Woman is a playful mixing of genres, compact in concept and designed to be performed with minimal scenery or props. Language and performance do the very theatrical narrative work.

The Silent Woman follows the adventures of successful Canadian novelist Vicki as she searches desperately for inspiration in a rambling old seaside mansion in Cornwall. Best friend Cassie is along for the ride, hoping to recover from a traumatic incident in her marriage. They encounter the ghostly Rose, a young Victorian servant long ago silenced but desperate to get her voice back, and the outrageous (but not so silent) Moira, owner of legendary local pub “The Silent Woman”. Fate and Circumstance bring these women together in unexpected and spine-tingling ways to give them the courage to speak their truths again at last.

The Silent Woman: silent no more.

About Alexandria Haber

Alexandria Haber is an award winning playwright, dramaturg and actor. Her plays have been produced in Montreal, Winnipeg, Calgary, Edmonton, the UK and include: Alice and The World We Live In, and On This Day (Centaur) October 2019. Mouth to Mouth (Montreal Fringe, The White Bear, London) (co- written with Ned Cox) On This Day, (Centaur Theatre) Life Here After, (Imago, Centaur, Wildside,) Closed for Urgent and Extraordinary Work, (Theatre Yes, Edmonton,): Game Changers and I don’t like Mondays and The Water Chronicles, Geordie Productions.

About Ned Cox

Ned Cox started his career as a playwright by winning the 1980 Fringe First award in Edinburgh. Born in New York, Ned has lived in Australia, the UK, and for the last 18 years in Montreal. He has had many productions on all three continents. His productions at The White Bear include Avalon, Mouth To Mouth (with Ms Haber), Walking The Cyclone, Purgatory Rise, and Bastardz.

 

The Silent Woman
Time: Mon Sep 28, 2020 06:00 PM London

Join Zoom Meeting
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/88019237840?pwd=V0owbUR6NHVLeXIyQStlOHhSMk5pQT09

Meeting ID: 880 1923 7840
Passcode: 862168

Details

Date:
September 28
Time:
6:00 pm - 7:00 pm BST
Cost:
Free
Event Category:
Website:
https://www.whitebeartheatre.co.uk/

Venue

Zoom
Back To Top
Cancel
Accessibility